Project Waterfall – Coffee Art Project.

Posted on Updated on

This evening I went for a talk to meet a handful of the other Artists’ participating in ‘Coffee Art Project’, which is one of the main initiatives of UK Coffee week 2013.

I have to create and submit an original artwork by 12th April, my imagination is buzzing with ideas; the predominant one is a painting of 2 symmetrical women, one dressed as a barista and the other a customer, (maybe embroidering into details on the canvas), they are facing one another, their bodies and faces look identical, the only way of differentiating them is the uniform worn by the barista.

Being able to enter this competition was an opportunity which I relished, as it is open to all mediums and interpretation to it is something which I can really make my own and incorporate my Fashion Dolls into and most importantly it’s such a worthwhile cause; money raised from the artwork will go on providing safe, clean, hygienic water and sanitation initiatives in the coffee producing countries, the first project is providing clean waters to communities in Tanzania!

I have a super-busy few days ahead as I wish to create 2 more Surreal Fashion Dolls which will need to be framed in 2 weeks ready for my participation with Debut Contemporary when I start at the end of May.

I’m going back to my home town of Bristol on Friday and already have visions of myself: a great deal of caffeine, 2 A2 sheets of Cartridge paper, acrylic paints, gesso, needle & thread and a large canvas working on all 3 artworks in my family kitchen, letting my inspiration flow and develop from one piece to the next……………..lots of work, lots of late nights but my adrenaline is going mad and I can’t wait to begin!

http://www.coffeeartproject.com/

 

Leave a Reply

