Experimental Fashion Illustration Classes

Posted on

I’m back in my hometown of Bristol for a few days over Easter….with a pile of admin…………..

Today I thought I’d escape the paperwork and run through some new ideas I wish to try out for future Art classes; so I invited some friends around to have a trial lesson run through.

The students started with a one minute continuous line drawing and went on to create a series of works using oil pastel and a final large scale drawing using pastel, ink and collaged paper and photographs.

Unfortunately being away from home I have limited resources so we had to run through with ink pastels and coloured paper/magazine articles (in my lessons there’s a vast selection of inks paints as well).

Teaching always leaves me feeling most inspired; advising people helps develop my own thoughts and concepts as well as seeing how my students interpret tasks using their own, unique handwriting.

A great start to the day!

Fashion Illustration 2

Matrioshka Dolls were the subject matter for the initial drawings (two minute continuous line drawings with a further ten minutes to colour and finalise).

Fashion Illustration 3

Students proceed to invent their own characters taking inspiration  from previous drawings and techniques learnt

Fashion Illustration 5 Fashion Illustration Prep

Finalised Illustration created using Oil pastels, collaged photographs and previous drawings as print.

 

Leave a Reply

