What is Beauty?

Posted on

The past few months have seen a change in my style of painting –not a radical change but a more abstract way of drawing with my series ‘Dream Abstraction’.

A few things have been playing on my mind recently (maybe due to the fact I’m nearing thirty and look at society in a more cynical way) – they do stay the artists style develops with the Artist and their experiences:

Last week I visited the National Gallery and purchased a book on Gustov Klimt from the gallery shop, it never consciously occurred to me but this series is similar to Klimt’s artworks of women.

When I looked through the pages I was completely taken by Hope I & Hope II the pregnant women in the artworks are breathtakingly beautiful, all of Klimt’s paintings are phenomenal! Other things which occurred to me; these beautiful nudes have body hair; ladies often appear to be above mid twenties and have feminine curves.

Hope I

Here is Klimt’s erotic vocabulary in its totality, from shameless body through perverse nuances of red head and red hair at the pubis, to the symbolic motifs of penetration resonating with the protruding belly. Around this picture of consummate femaleness appear elements of night and death.

Klimt – Giles Neret

 

Hope II

This made me think hard about what beauty truly is and the pressures forced upon women in this day and age to look a certain way………who decides that being silky smooth and hair free is attractive?! This is what girls are taught and believe (but let’s not forget the beauty industry is one which is worth millions and these are the people dictating to women what is ‘attractive’ and un-attractive, what young girl wouldn’t feel insecure with the new Veet advert which implies that women who don’t shave are men:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UxCHLXQffsg

I’ve always been drawn to women and Dolls as a subject matter for my art and with next series I wish to explore beauty outside of what society dictates……

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

